Indie Publishing

In this new world of Indie publishing it is always my pursuit to find the best tips and productive advice to stay on the cutting edge of self-publishing. As an Indie author of Fantasy it is especially hard, I think, and need the best help I can get. I assume you are the same way if you are a writer. In my efforts to stay informed I am committed to sharing with you anything I learn and can be interpreted as valuable. If any of you haven’t visited JA Konrath website I recommend it. His blog is full of gems that can help you carve your niche in the Self-publishing market. Here Konrath lists a top eleven points on how to “Tend Your Garden,” or in other words “Tend your e-book.” You can view his blog HERE. All of his tips are valid and deserve a go if you haven’t tried any of them yet. As an Indie Author you have total control of your book and the power to tweak your methods of marketing. I will point out my experiences with Konrath pionts…here we go:
1.) Change prices. Konrath says to “Don’t be afraid to wield that power…” This is something I’ve tried in the past with little success. I will admit that I haven’t tried this to the point that will prevent me from giving it another go, but unless your book is totally FREE I found that sales related to a price adjustment made little difference. Example: When I had my Mysterious Knight e-book for sale I started it at $1.99. It is a short story by the way. I experienced very modest sales at first and then hit a massive lull. I dropped the price to $.99 to give it a kick. I saw little to no change. Then I made it free. Tons of downloads. I have become very skeptical to price changing as a method to increase sales. I think there are a lot of e-book buyers that search for nothing but bargain and free e-books. I am of the mindset that you should get paid for your work. The best advice I’ve found on this subject is to price your book to equate that it is worth reading. Dropping your price might give buyers the wrong impression about your work. Now if you are pricing your e-book at an unreasonable market price then you might want to consider this option.
2.) Newsletter…I agree completely. Let anyone who is a fan of your work have some way to get the inside scoop on what you are doing and when your next book is coming out.
3.) Sales. KDP sounds great and I’ve thought about going exclusively KDP, but as of yet I’m still sticking with other advice on making my work available on as many sites and platforms I can. It is hard to beat 70% royalties though.
4.) Advertising. This is the hardest and most annoying part of writing…the editing part is not far behind. Since I am not a huge success yet as an Indie author, and I lack the minimum star reviews required, I really can’t speak on Bookbub. There are many advertising sites out there that want to keep a reputation of finding the best priced and quality ebooks out there. In order to do this many will require that you have a minimum of ten reviews of four stars and above to be included or considered. On top of that you have to pay them. I would dare to say it would be worth it, but getting the reviews is a tricky and hard process. The tricky part is doing it honestly. You can pay for reviews, but I would not recommend it. Many other advertising sites will only list your book if it is bargain priced or free. Here again, I think many Indie authors are hurting the market by offering their work for free. Unless it is part of a kick start campaign or something you guys are killing us!
5.) Change your cover art. Konrath has a good point. A good cover is a good advertisement. A bad one says, “I’m cheap and so is my work.” Your writing is the best advertisement, but if you can’t get someone to at least try you, what good is it?
6.) Web presence. Have a blog or a website…It’s a must.
7.) I use as many platforms as I can. Here Konrath is saying see what other platforms are up to. I say use them too. Although you can’t be a part of KDP program while using other e-book distributors.
8.) Stop worrying about how other authors are doing. Excellent advice by Konrath. Konrath has made a ton of money and he is very transparent about it. His writing is also what keeps his fans and patrons. What I and every other Indie author need to worry about is our own writing. His success, or anybody else’s success is from their own writing and hard work. Use them as inspiration and gleam any bit of advice they might have to offer, but don’t get down on yourself because of anyone’s success.
9.) Experiment…all the time.
10.) Share…This is an ever changing animal and we as Indie authors do best to share what we learn with other Indie authors. It only helps us get stronger. I appreciate Konrath and the likes for sharing what they learn to help all of us.
11.) Lastly, stop complaining. Agree. How does complaining help you sell books?

Dark Moon Shadow…Get your copy now!…Don’t miss the fantasy!

5 comments on “Indie Publishing

  1. neasha1 says:

    I have been following Konrath’s site for years and he is great. He has turned the ‘dreamer writer’s’ out there into actual self-published authors by giving them the courage to go against the Big 6 and do it yourself. The Industry is morphing everyday and Konrath usually predicts it head-on. Thanks for sharing :))

    ~~Happy Blogging!!

  2. Excellent tips! Thanks for sharing

  3. Good article.. It is indeed extremely difficult in todays market. Over 400,000 books are published by indie writers a year (pretty sure thats U.S alone) and without extreme exposure and fan following it’s exceedingly hard to generate buzz for your novel. I too write fantasy, and I’m expecting a long and tough road. That being said traditional publishing or self-publishing is still not an question I have answered myself.

    • Congrats on sticking with it. Not easy generating buzz for sure. Even though Indie gives us more control, I wouldn’t deny traditional either. Have the best of both worlds if you can.

Comments are closed.