Can you get your book into a book store?

So you think you can’t get your book into a book store? That, according to Dean Wesley Smith, is a myth. His book “Killing the Top Ten Sacred Cows of Indie Publishing” Addresses this issue: Get Indie Books into Bookstores. Dean has a wealth of knowledge in this area and after reading this fantastic article he proves it over and over again. This article starts off with a history of publishing and how nothing really has changed today…only just a little. I tend to fall into the category of skeptic when this subject comes up, because I have fallen into the trap that Indie Authors are lowly and can never, or hardly ever get their books into a bookstore. That was certainly before electronic publishing. Technically I’m totally wrong because Amazon and Smashwords are bookstores, just virtual. I think we are talking about the tangible, feel the spine of a book, physical piece that we want in a physical, walk-in and browse bookstore. This I am still a doubter, but Dean walks you through the must and must not, easy yet not so easy, path to seeing your printed story sold in a bookstore. I can see that it is doable, but not for the faint of heart. I have to admit that when it comes to thinking like a publisher I get scared, passive, and dare I say lazy. It’s really the hard part of being an Indie Author. Luckily we have e-books and can stick to that route exclusively, but if we want to market our story in a way for most exposure and profitability we need to grasp our minds around, and think like a true publisher. In all reality that is what we are. Now, I’m not saying that I will actually follow this path and get my books into a physical bookstore, or even in their catalog, but what I am saying is that if I choose to work hard enough it can be done…that I have  no doubt about it. Dean, as I’ve mentioned in other posts, is a masterpiece of knowledge and his Killing the Top Ten Sacred Cows of Publishing is a must read for any Indie Author ( He has links on his site where you can read it chapter by chapter). Thanks Dean for another excellent lesson in publishing!

My new Fantasy Novel: Dark Moon Shadow is coming soon!

