What fantasy are you reading? Michael A. Stackpole

This week I’d like to talk about another author that inspired me to write and self publish. Last week I gave props to Terry Brooks, who is currently my favorite author, but there is another author who I admire greatly and would like to share with you all. If you know this writer then you can understand where I am coming from. Michael A. Stackpole is a New York Times Best Selling Author. He became wildly popular in the Battle Tech, Star Wars, and Gaming books, but I discovered him by his short stories and Fantasy writings. His series Dragon Crown Wars, to me, is one of the best Fantasy series out there, and the prequel Dark Glory War remains one of my favorite books. I won’t do a review of those books here, but I can tell you that I loved them all. I purchased them in paperback, but some of them are in ebooks….waiting for them all to find their way electronically. If you are reading Mike…cant wait for the rest to be an ebook. I know, something to do with publishing rights…Image

I first discovered Michael Stackpole by coming across a podcast called The Dragon Page Cover to Cover. A super fun podcast that ranged from two shows a week to once a month or longer. The two Mikes would talk about ebooks, writing, publishing, and interview authors. I can’t tell you how much I listened to that podcast and enjoyed it to the fullest. It was at this time when ebooks were emerging and making a run at the traditional publishers. The Dragon Page was all over it, and discussions about ebooks were the main topic most shows. I learned so much and was inspired to go the ebook route. Through this podcast I also discovered a podcast series by Michael Stackpole called The Secrets. This podcast, hosted by Mike, gave writing tips. It’s free for download. If you are a writer I recommend you download them and have a listen. He also has a series called 21days to a novel packed with information.

Lastly, I would like to plug his short stories. Some are still downloadable through amazon or his website. I cant seem to find the Merlin Bloodstone Brewed Fortune short anymore…I wonder why? Correction! I found it! But if you like short fiction he has some that are worth the read.

His Age of Discovery, and Crown Colonies Series are awesome too.

I consider Stackpole a huge influence on me and recommend for you to discover his works and see for yourself.

Thanks Mike!

4 comments on “What fantasy are you reading? Michael A. Stackpole

  1. L. Palmer says:

    I really enjoy Stackpole’s books too. I was introduced to him through the X-wing series for Star Wars. Have you read his other fantasy books?

    • He really is a great fantasy writer. I hope he keeps writing in that genre. I actually have his other fantasy works, and they are in-line to be read. I’m reading Terry Brooks at the moment.

  2. alankscott says:

    Have you read David Gemmell? For me his book Legend is a true classic.

Comments are closed.