Do you really need a book agent?

Do you really need an agent to get published? That is an assumption I thought for a long time, especially before e-books came on the scene. When I researched what traditional publishing required to submit a manuscript I would often run into the (agent-only guidelines). This was a momentum stopper for me. If you are a writer and think you need an agent here is a excellent blog of advice by Dean Wesley Smith The New World of Publishing: The Assumption of Agents . I recommend all aspiring writers to read Mr. Smiths blog, as it is full of practical advice from someone who has the knowledge and experience in the world of publishing. Here he explains, in steps, why you really don’t need an agent in the new world of electronic media and the “do-it yourself” Indie publishing. He also explains what to look for in an agent if you are still bent on using one. One of the most important bits of advice I came away with was to obtain an IP Lawyer to look over your contract if you are ever offered one… by anyone. There is so much more on Smith’s blog…so jump on over and have a browse. 

I must be honest, Dean makes it look easy. I can only say that, it is for him, because he has spent so much time learning his craft and the business side of things that makes it look so simple. I personally, still struggle with the daunting thoughts of the business side, and am still trying to grasp the trade as I embark with my writing aspirations.  We Indie authors MUST take time to learn the business in order to succeed, as well as pen a good story. I appreciate authors like Dean Wesley Smith who share their experience and knowledge to those of us who are swimming with the sharks of the business. 

Pennerstories update: Art work for Dark Moon Shadows is in production. I look forward to sharing that with you all very soon. As I mentioned before in an earlier post, I will be migrating this wordpress blog into a hosted website that will enhance the reader experience and will focus-central into a fantasy theme. If you look in the bookstore tab and the side bar I have already begun preparation by removing the non-fantasy related ebooks/ books and have kept the two ebooks that will make it on the new website. Hang with me and keep checking back for the upcoming announcements and changes. 

As for Dark Moon…It is going through multiple edits to fine tune the reading experience once it is launched.

Once again I am looking for reviewers…if you are interested please reply and I will contact you. I will blog more in detail when the book is ready.

Have a great day.

3 comments on “Do you really need a book agent?

  1. atothewr says:

    Thanks for the advice. I’m about to launch into the agent pool, yet again, just don’t have the time to do it independently, also not very good at it.

Comments are closed.