Rules for writing

I’ve been catching up on my blog follow readings, mostly about e-book publishing and writing, and found a brilliant post on how to approach fiction writing. As a self-publisher I am always confronted with the cumbersome task of balancing work/family life/ and my writing. We writers that haven’t been able to sustain a financial income to support our livelihood from our book sales certainly need to balance our writing and work. Those of us with family have it even harder, but the drive to write is in our blood and to pen a story is ever-present. I’ve blogged about Dean Wesley Smith before and here is another link to some great advice to contemplate if you are a writer: Dean Wesley Smith Blog Here Dean talks about Robert A. Heinlein Rules for Writing. Personally I’ve never heard of Robert A. Heinlein or his rules for writing…and you know what? His rules make perfect sense. I’ve heard similar ideas of advice from other authors and writing blogs before, so no doubt his philosophy is well received. You can find a listing of Robert A. Heinlein rules from this link also found on Dean Wesley’s blog here: RulesFor many the first two rules will be easy to follow just as long as you can set a time to write daily. No matter how many words you get in, just get some writing done and keep moving forward. This was the best advice I ever heard on writing and I used it when I penned The Fifth Gospel (Deception Rising) in 2005 and many of my short novels. I set a goal of time each day and just wrote. Some times I would only get 200 words or less and other days 3K or more. I was extremely disciplined and I accomplished a ton by keeping to my schedule. For whatever reason I have had a hard time going back to that place that brought me success, but as I apply rule number 1 again I feel refreshed. If one can keep to a reasonable schedule to write a little each time each day, achieving rule number 2 will fall into place. Rule number 3 is not hard for me personally, but I know it will be difficult for many. The perfectionist in some writers will cause one to never get anywhere. How perfect can a story really be? After all we writers are telling a story that comes from our soul, our imagination. It is exactly what we want it to be. Sure there are many steps and rules for writing that should be followed to create good characters, develop them, and solid plot lines etc. But all in all the story is exactly as it is meant to be the first time. So my advice to (myself) writers is to leave your/our finished product alone after you’ve edited all the grammar and spelling. Lastly, get that work available for folks to read and enjoy! This part may come easier to some than others, but there are many e[book distributors out there that with a little time spent you can have your book digitally formatted and ready for sale. Bottom line…stick to it and if it works apply Robert A. Heinlein Rules for Writing.

One comment on “Rules for writing

Comments are closed.